2006 Eclipse Awards Voting Summary

Voting Summary

(Click each category for previous winners)

Horse of the Year

Invasor (ARG)

Vote count: Invasor (ARG), 228; Barbaro, 21; Bernardini, 16; Lava Man, 3; Ouija Board (GB) 3. No abstentions.

Two-Year-Old Male

Street Sense

Vote count: Street Sense, 229; Circular Quay, 13; Tiz Wonderful, 11; Nobiz Like Shobiz, 9; Scat Daddy, 5; Great Hunter, 2; Day Pass, 1; Stormello, 1. No abstentions.

Two-Year-Old Female

Dreaming of Anna

Vote count: Dreaming of Anna, 265; Octave, 3; Boca Grande 1; Point Ashley, 1. Voter abstentions, 1.

Three-Year-Old Male


Vote count: Bernardini, 210; Barbaro, 56; Discreet Cat, 4; Jazil, 1. No abstentions.

Three-Year-Old Female

Wait a While

Vote count: Wait a While, 138; Pine Island, 108; Bushfire, 18; Ermine, 3; Lemons Forever, 1. Voter abstentions, 3.

Older Male

Invasor (ARG)

Vote count: Invasor (ARG), 262; Lava Man, 8; Voter abstentions, 1.

Older Female

Fleet Indian

Vote count: Fleet Indian, 213; Round Pond, 48; Asi Siempre, 4; Gorella (FR) 2; Ouija Board (GB), 2; Pool Land, 1; Spun Sugar, 1. No abstentions.


Thor’s Echo

Vote count: Thor's Echo, 213; Discreet Cat, 39; Henny Hughes, 15; Bishop Court Hill, 1; Bordonaro, 1; Proud Tower Too, 1. Voter abstentions, 1.

Male Turf Horse

Miesque’s Approval

Vote count: Miesque's Approval, 74; The Tin Man, 69; English Channel, 63; Red Rocks (IRE), 21; Aragorn (IRE) 19; Showing Up, 12; Lava Man, 7; Ashkal Way (IRE), 1; Better Talk Now, 1; Collier Hill (GB) ,1. Voter abstentions, 3.

Female Turf Horse

Ouija Board (GB)

Vote count: Ouija Board (GB), 217; Gorella (FR) 35; Wait a While 15. Voter abstentions, 4.

Steeplechase Horse


Vote count: McDynamo, 239; Sur La Tete, 6; Hirapour (IRE) 2; Mixed Up 1; Voter abstentions, 23.

Outstanding Owner

Darley Stable and Lael Stables

Vote count: Darley Stable, 110 and Lael Stables, 110; Shadwell Stable, 17; Live Oak Plantation, 13; Maggi Moss, 9; Louis O'Brien, 2; Frank Calabrese, 1; Robert Cole, Jr., 1; Melnyk Racing Stable, 1; J. Paul Reddam, 1; STD Racing and Jason Wood, 1; Stronach Stables, 1. Voter abstentions, 4.

Outstanding Breeder

Adena Springs

Vote count: Adena Springs, 119; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Jackson, 47; Darley, 44; Live Oak Stud, 24; William S. Farish, 11; Thomas/Lakin, 7; Farnsworth Farms, 3; WinStar Farm, LLC, 2; Haras Clausan, 1; E. Paul Robsham, 1; Stanley Estate and Stud Co., 1. Voter abstentions, 11.

Outstanding Trainer

Todd Pletcher

Vote count: Todd Pletcher, 194; Kiaran McLaughlin, 29; Michael Matz, 18; Doug O'Neill, 11; Scott Lake, 7; Tom Albertrani, 3; Bill Mott, 3; Scott Blasi, 1; George Yetsook, 1. Voter abstentions, 4.

Outstanding Jockey

Edgar Prado

Vote count: Edgar Prado, 152; Garrett Gomez, 90; Russell Baze, 14; Julien Leparoux, 7 ; Ramon Dominguez, 3; John Velazquez, 3; Fernando Jara, 1. Voter abstention, 1.

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Julien Leparoux

Vote count: Julien Leparoux, 254; Rosie Napravnik, 7; Martin Garcia, 6; Voter abstentions, 4.

The winner of the Eclipse Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is John Nerud. The Eclipse Award of Merit is presented to an individual or entity displaying outstanding lifetime achievement in, and service to, the Thoroughbred industry.

Special Award - Voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, the award went Roy and Gretchen Jackson and the University of Pennsylvania's New Bolton Center for their attempts to save Barbaro. The Special Award is presented to honor outstanding individual achievements in, or contributions to, the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio/multi-media Internet, news/commentary, feature/enterprise writing, local television, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2006 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges' panel for each category and previously announced, are:

  • Photography: Matt Goins, photograph of jockey Julien Leparoux being thrown over his mount, Sanibel Storm, during the sixth race at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington on April 29.  Lexington Herald-Leader.
  • Writing - Feature: Mike Jensen, "The Man Whose Job Is Saving Barbaro," Philadelphia Inquirer, May 28, 2006
  • Writing - News/Commentary: Dick Jerardi, "A Nightmare, Right from the Start," and "Maybe Step," were both published on May 22 and "In Barbaro's Corral, published May 24, Philadelphia Daily News
  • TV - Live Racing: NBC Sports, 2006 Preakness Stakes.
  • TV – Feature: Pony Highway Productions and HorseRacing TV, On the Muscle: Portrait of a Thoroughbred Racing Stable, Aired February 28, March 7 and March 15 of 2006 on HRTV.

  • TV - Local:  WLKY-TV was selected for a one-hour documentary entitled "The Final Foal."
  • Audio/Multi-Media Internet: WBAL Radio in Baltimore for its live coverage of the 131st Preakness Stakes.