2010 Eclipse Awards Voting Summary

Voting Summary

(Click each category for previous winners)

Horse of the Year


Vote count: Zenyatta, 128; Blame,102; Goldikova (IRE), 5; Voter Abstention, 1; No Vote, 2.

Two-Year-Old Male

Uncle Mo

Vote count:  Uncle Mo, 236; Boys at Tosconova, 1; Pluck, 1.

Two-Year-Old Female

Awesome Feather

Vote count: Awesome Feather, 235; Turbulent Descent, 2, More Than Real, 1.

Three-Year-Old Male

Lookin At Lucky

Vote count:  Lookin At Lucky, 224; Eskendereya 5; Drosselmeyer, 3; Afleet Express, 1; Discreetly Mine, 1; Paddy O’Prado, 1; Super Saver, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1; Twirling Candy, 1.

Three-Year-Old Female

Blind Luck

Vote count: Blind Luck, 237; No Such Word, 1.

Older Male


Vote count:  Blame, 238.

Older Female


Vote count: Zenyatta, 237; Goldivoka (IRE), 1.

Female Sprinter

Dubai Majesty

Vote Count: Dubai Majesty, 232; Franny Freud, 3; Rightly So, 2; Serious Attitude, 1.

Male Sprinter

Big Drama

Vote count: Big Drama, 170; Majesticperfection, 61; Discreetly Mine, 4; Bribon (FR), 1;Chamberlain Bridge, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1.

Male Turf Horse

Gio Ponti

Vote count: Gio Ponti, 199; Dangerous Midge, 22; Champ Pegasus, 6; Winchester, 6; Paddy O’Prado, 5.

Female Turf Horse


Vote count: Goldikova (IRE), 212; Proviso (GB), 15; Tuscan Evening (IRE), 11.

Steeplechase Horse

Slip Away

Vote count: Slip Away, 175; Arcadius, 25; Percussionist (IRE), 6; Sermon of Love, 4; Voter Abstentions, 28.

Outstanding Owner

WinStar Farm

Vote Count:  WinStar Farm, 100; Mr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss, 81; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider 16; Midwest Thoroughbreds 15; Juddmonte Farms, 5; Zayat Stables, 5; Repole Stable 3; Edward P. Evans, 2; Augustin Stable 1; Melnyk Racing Stables 1; Maggi Moss, 1; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 1; Wertheimer and Frere, 1; Voter Abstentions, 6. .

Outstanding Breeder

Adena Springs

Vote count: Adena Springs, 69; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider 55; Brereton C. Jones, 43; WinStar Farm 26; Edward P. Evans, 12; Maverick Productions, 10; Juddmonte Farms, 7; Gulf Coast Farms 3; Ocala Stud, 2; Eugene Melnyk, 1; Pamela and Martin Wygod, 1; Voter Abstentions, 9.

Outstanding Trainer

Todd Pletcher

Vote count: Todd Pletcher,168; John Shirreffs, 28; Jerry Hollendorfer, 17; Steve Asmussen, 8; Albert Stall, Jr., 5; W. Brett Calhoun, 4; Bob Baffert, 1; Freddy Head, 1; Juan Carlos Guerrero, 1; Kiaran McLaughlin, 1, Bill Mott, 1 ; Voter Abstentions, 2; No Vote, 1.

Outstanding Jockey

Ramon Dominguez

Vote count: Ramon Dominguez, 124; Garrett Gomez, 60, John Velazquez, 32; Mike Smith, 13; Deshawn Parker, 3; Joel Rosario, 2; Kent Desormeaux, 1; Russell Baze, 1. No Vote, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Omar Moreno

Vote count: Omar Moreno, 197; Forest Boyce, 6; Freddy Lenclud, 4; Angel Serpa, 4; Luis Saez, 3; Tyler Kaplan 1; Marcelino Pedroza, Jr., 1; Voter Abstentions, 20; No Vote, 2.

The winner of the Eclipse Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is presented to Claiborne Farm and Marylou Whitney. The Award of Merit is presented to honor outstanding lifetime achievement in the Thoroughbred industry.

Special Award - The winner of the Special Award, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is Team Zenyatta, consisting of the individuals who helped 6-year-old Zenyatta become one of the most recognizable sports stars of 2010.  The Special Award is presented to honor outstanding individual achievements in, or contributions to, the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio/multi-media Internet, news/commentary, feature/enterprise writing, local television, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2010 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges' panel for each category and previously announced, are:

2009 Results
2008 Results
2007 Results
2006 Results
2005 Results
2004 Results
2003 Results