The Eclipse Awards

The Eclipse Awards are presented annually to recognize those horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories.

The Eclipse Awards are co-sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association. Prior to the start of the Eclipse Awards in 1971, the TRA and the Daily Racing Form separately honored racing's annual champions.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th century racehorse and sire, Eclipse, who didn't begin racing until age five. He was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, three of his get winning the Epsom Derby.

Click each category below to view this year's winners and previous winners 1971 - present.

Click here to view winners prior to 1971.

Click here to view Media Winners 1971 - 1998 (PDF File)

Voting Summary

(Click each category for previous winners)

In voting that concluded January 3, 2013, Eclipse Awards voters cast their ballots to rank the top three horses and individuals in each Championship division on a 10-5-1 point system basis.  Eclipse Award winners are determined by first-place votes only.
Results for the 2012 Finalists in all 17 categories are listed below
The tallies below represent only first-place votes from members of the consolidated voting entities, NTRA, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters.
Voter participation rate: 254/272= 93.38%

Horse of the Year

Wise Dan

Vote count: Wise Dan, 194; I'll Have Another, 30; Fort Larned, 12; Royal Delta, 8; Little Mike, 6; Frankel, 1; Groupie Doll, 1; Shanghai Bobby, 1; Voter Abstentions, 7.

Two-Year-Old Male

Shanghai Bobby

Vote count:  Shanghai Bobby, 253; Uncaptured, 1.

Two-Year-Old Filly


Vote count: Beholder, 225; Executiveprivilege, 27; Dreaming of Julia, 1; So Many Ways, 1


I'll Have Another

Vote count:  I'll Have Another, 247; Bodemeister , 3; The Lumber Guy, 1; Paynter, 1; Union Rags , 1; Voter Abstention, 1

Three-Year-Old Female


Vote count: Questing, 106; My Miss Aurelia, 102; Believe You Can, 17; Contested, 13; Dance Card, 6; Lady of Shamrock, 5; In Lingerie, 4; Zo Impressive, 1

Older Male

Wise Dan

Vote count:  Wise Dan, 139; Fort Larned, 109; Little Mike, 4; Game On Dude, 1; Shackleford , 1

Older Female

Royal Delta

Vote count: Royal Delta, 231; Groupie Doll, 22; It's Tricky, 1

Male Sprinter


Vote count: Trinniberg, 233; Shackleford , 11; The Lumber Guy, 8; Caixa Electronica, 1; Voter Abstention, 1

Female Sprinter

Groupie Doll

Vote Count: Groupie Doll, 250; Mizdirection, 3; Contested, 1

Male Turf Horse

Wise Dan

Vote count: Wise Dan, 170; Little Mike, 78; Point of Entry, 5; No Vote, 1

Female Turf Horse


Vote count: Zagora, 242; Marketing Mix, 5; Lady of Shamrock, 4; Dayatthespa, 2; Voter Abstention, 1

Steeplechase Horse

Pierrot Lunaire

Vote count: Pierrot Lunaire, 116; Demonstrative, 99; Arcadius, 1; Divine Fortune, 1; Woodmont, 1; Voter Abstentions, 36

Outstanding Owner

Godolphin Racing

Vote Count:  Godolphin Racing, 138; Midwest Thoroughbreds, 50; Reddam Racing, 26; John C. Oxley, 13; Morton Fink, 12; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 2; Janis Whitham, 2; Zayat Stables, 2; Repole Racing, 1; Starlight Racing, 1; Voter Abstentions, 1

Outstanding Breeder


Vote count: Darley, 170; Adena Springs, 25; Morton Fink, 20; Brereton C. Jones, 15; Janis Whitham, 4; Phipps Stable, 3; Harvey Clarke, 2; Fred and William Bradley, 1; William D. Graham, 1; Palides Investments, 1; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 1; Stonestreet Thoroughbreds, 1; Voter Abstentions, 10

Outstanding Trainer

Dale Romans

Vote count: Dale Romans, 119; Todd Pletcher, 87; Bob Baffert, 35; Chad Brown, 2; Bill Mott, 2; Jamie Ness, 2; Doug O'Neill, 2; Steve Asmussen 1; Ian Wilkes, 1; Voter Abstentions, 3

Outstanding Jockey

Ramon Dominguez

Vote count: Ramon Dominguez, 201; John Velazquez, 37; Rosie Napravnik, 4; Russell Baze, 2; Rafael Bejarano, 2; Javier Castellano, 2; Mario Gutierrez, 1; Mike Smith, 1; Voter Abstentions, 3; No Vote,

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Jose Montano

Vote count: Jose Montano, 127; Irad Ortiz, Jr., 34; Angel Suarez, 25; Eswan Flores, 16; Wilmer Garcia, 4; Eliska Kubinova, 4; C.J. McMahon, 2; Jose Ortiz, 2; Hugo Sanchez, 2; Nicolas Milford, 1; Voter Abstentions, 37

The winner of the Eclipse Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is presented to Nick Nicholson. The Award of Merit is presented to honor outstanding lifetime achievement in the Thoroughbred industry.

Special Award - The winner of the Special Award, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, was not awarded in 2012.  The Special Award is presented to honor outstanding individual achievements in, or contributions to, the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio/multi-media Internet, news/commentary, feature/enterprise writing, local television, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2010 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges' panel for each category and previously announced, are:

2012 Results
2011 Results
2010 Results
2009 Results
2008 Results
2007 Results
2006 Results
2005 Results
2004 Results
2003 Results