The Eclipse Awards

The Eclipse Awards are presented annually to recognize those horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories.

The Eclipse Awards are co-sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association. Prior to the start of the Eclipse Awards in 1971, the TRA and the Daily Racing Form separately honored racing's annual champions.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th century racehorse and sire, Eclipse, who didn't begin racing until age five. He was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, three of his get winning the Epsom Derby.

Click each category below to view this year's winners and previous winners 1971 - present.

Click here to view winners prior to 1971.

Click here to view Media Winners 1971 - 1998 (PDF File)

Voting Summary

(Click each category for previous winners)

In voting that concluded January 3, 2014, Eclipse Awards voters cast their ballots to rank the top three horses and individuals in each Championship division on a 10-5-1 point system basis.  Eclipse Award winners are determined by first-place votes only.
Results for the 2013 Finalists in all 17 categories are listed below
The tallies below represent only first-place votes from members of the consolidated voting entities, NTRA, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters.
Voter participation rate: 249/272= 91.54%

Horse of the Year

Wise Dan

Vote count: Wise Dan, 208; Mucho Macho Man, 21; Will Take Charge, 15; Dank (GB), 1; Princess of Sylmar, 1; Royal Delta, 1. Voter Abstentions, 2

Two-Year-Old Male

Shared Belief

Vote Count: Shared Belief, 115; New Year’s Day, 99; Havana, 24; Honor Code, 5; Outstrip (GB), 4; Tamarando, 1; No Vote 1

Two-Year-Old Filly

She’s a Tiger

Vote Count: She's a Tiger, 212; Chriselliam (IRE),15; Ria Antonia, 10; Sweet Reason, 3; Stopshoppingmaria, 3; Streaming 3; My Conquestadory, 2; Artemis Agrotera, 1


Will Take Charge

Vote count:  Will Take Charge, 231; Orb, 15; Palace Malice, 1; Goldencents, 1; Verrazano, 1

Three-Year-Old Female


Vote count:
Beholder, 207; Princess of Sylmar, 42

Older Male

Wise Dan

Vote count:  Wise Dan, 123; Mucho Macho Man, 93; Game On Dude, 31; Flat Out, 2

Older Female

Royal Delta

Vote count:
Royal Delta, 234; Dank (GB), 5; Joyful Victory, 3; Tiz Miz Sue, 2; Dance to Bristol, 1; Laughing (IRE), 1; Brandy’s Secret, 1. Voter Abstention, 1. No Vote, 1

Male Sprinter

Points Offthebench

Vote count: Points Offthebench, 125; Secret Circle, 70; Sahara Sky, 45; Justin Phillip, 4; Private Zone, 2; Immortal Eyes, 1; Strapping Groom, 1. Voter Abstention, 1

Female Sprinter

Groupie Doll

Vote Count: Groupie Doll, 192; Mizdirection, 45; Cluster of Stars, 7; Dance to Bristol, 5

Male Turf Horse

Wise Dan

Vote count:
Wise Dan, 243; Magician (IRE), 4; Obviously (IRE), 1; Point of Entry, 1

Female Turf Horse


Vote count: Dank (GB), 229; Laughing (IRE), 8; Mizdirection, 8; Alterite (FR) 1; Egg Drop, 1; Emollient, 1; Kitten’s Dumplings, 1

Steeplechase Horse

Divine Fortune

Vote count: Divine Fortune, 112; Italian Wedding, 27; Gustavian, 25; Alajmal, 21; Mr. Hot Stuff, 12. Voter Abstentions, 52

Outstanding Owner

Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey

Vote Count: 
Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 235; Midwest Thoroughbreds Inc., 4; Morton Fink, 3; Gary and Mary West, 2; Jungle Racing, 1; Maggi Moss, 1. Voter Abstentions, 3

Outstanding Breeder

Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey

Vote count:
Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey 221; Adena Springs, 17; Morton Fink, 4; Darley 1; WinStar Farm, 1. Voter Abstentions, 5

Outstanding Trainer

Todd Pletcher

Vote count:
Todd Pletcher, 183; D. Wayne Lukas, 21; Jerry Hollendorfer, 9; Bill Mott, 7; Charles LoPresti, 6; Shug McGaughey, 6; Bob Baffert, 5; Steve Asmussen, 3; Chad Brown, 2; Kathy Ritvo, 2; Ollie Figgins, 1;  David Jacobson, 1; King Leatherbury, 1; Dale Romans, 1. Voter Abstention, 1

Outstanding Jockey

Javier Castellano

Vote count:
Javier Castellano, 134; Gary Stevens, 65; Joel Rosario, 21; Mike Smith, 19; John Velazquez, 8; Corey Nakatani 1. Voter Abstention, 1.

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Victor Carrasco

Vote count:
Victor Carrasco, 172; Edgard Zayas, 18; Manuel Franco, 13; Emmanuel Esquivel, 8; Jose L. Ortiz, 4; Dylan Davis, 3; Trevor McCarthy, 2. Voter Abstentions, 29

Eclipse Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, was presented to
D. Wayne Lukas. The Award of Merit is presented to honor outstanding lifetime achievement in the Thoroughbred industry.

Special Award - The winner of the Special Award, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, was awarded to the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance.  The Special Award is presented to honor outstanding individual achievements in, or contributions to, the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio/multi-media Internet, news/commentary, feature/enterprise writing, local television, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2013 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges' panel for each category and previously announced, are:

2012 Results
2011 Results
2010 Results
2009 Results
2008 Results
2007 Results
2006 Results
2005 Results
2004 Results
2003 Results